top of page

Katariina II Adds Final Thrill to 51st Trofeo Conde de Godó BMW Trophy

The Estonian Boat Becomes the New Leader in the Premier ORC 0-1 Class

The Remaining Classes Maintain the Same Leaders

The Estonian boat Katariina II is the new leader in the ORC 0-1 class. Photo: © Oscar Torveo

Barcelona, June 1, 2024 - The penultimate day of the 51st Conde de Godó BMW Trophy was action-packed with three races held in the ORC cruiser classes, four in the J70 class, and a second and final coastal race for the ORC a Dos. The Estonian Katariina II is the new leader in ORC 0-1, while the same boats remain at the top in the other classes: L’Immens-Laplaza Assessors in ORC 2, Lady in ORC 3, Lassal in ORC 4-5, Tenaz in J70, and Baleària-RCNP in the Women’s Cup. After the fourth race, a discard came into play in all categories.

HM Hospitales helmed by Oscar Chaves. Photo: © Oscar Torveo

In the premier ORC 0-1 class, after an opening day where Óscar Chaves's DK46 HM Hospitales took the lead, the ClubSwan42 boats began positioning themselves for a final assault. The Katariina II, helmed by Aivaar Tuulberg with Lanzarote's Alfredo Morales handling tactics, left no room for competitors by securing two first places at the start and a fourth place, allowing it to become the new leader, one point ahead of HM Hospitales. HM Hospitales boasts a stellar crew, including Olympic champions Fernando León and Kiko Sánchez Luna, and a top-tier helmsman, José Ponce. Also vying for victory is the Elena Nova, helmed by Germany's Christian Plump, which is third, just two points behind the Estonian boat. In fourth place is Seabery-MarAmigo, led by Basilio Marquínez. Despite starting strong with two second-place finishes, a poor third race where they finished thirteenth places them fourth, four points away from the podium.

L'Immens-Laplaza Assessors and Maximo. Photo: © Oscar Torveo

In ORC 2, L’Immens-Laplaza Assessors, helmed by Alexandre Laplaza, combines first-place finishes with two second-place finishes, putting the title within reach. The second position is held by BSN, skippered by Eduardo Maestre, who also has the runner-up spot nearly secured. Third place is occupied by Maximo, led by Alex Martín, with Drac Team and Magica close behind, all vying for the podium.

In ORC 3, Lady, helmed by Uruguayan Nicolás González, holds first place with a three-point lead over Saiola 10, skippered by Wim Wandesande. The two boats tied in the first race of the day and are in a tight battle for victory. L’Oreig, helmed by Martí Gelabert, is comfortably in third place.

In ORC 4-5, Lassal, skippered by Gonzalo Calvo, is virtually the champion, having won all the races and remaining the only undefeated boat in the Conde de Godó BMW Trophy. The battle in this class focuses on who will take second and third place, with El Travieso, helmed by Ángel Blázquez, and Odysseus, helmed by Jordi Tussell, in contention.

Hang Ten, Noticia, and Tenaz crossing the finish line. Photo: © Oscar Torveo

Among the J70 one-designs, Tenaz, helmed by Pablo Garriga, continues to dominate spectacularly, arriving as the clear and outstanding leader for the final day. He achieved an impressive three first-place finishes and a ninth, the latter of which he discards, surpassing the second-place boat, Noticia, helmed by Luis Martín Cabiedes, by a remarkable four points. HangTen, skippered by Mon Cañellas, is further behind in the standings.

In the Women’s Cup within this class, Team Baleària-RCNP, helmed by the highly skilled María Bover, holds a commanding first place. They lead over the formidable Hakuna Matata, skippered by Bàrbara Cornudella, and Citanias Obras y Servicios, with Patricia Suárez at the helm. This competition has been intensely thrilling, with each team showcasing exceptional talent and determination.

The fleet of ORC a Dos competes in their second race. Photo: © Oscar Torveo

Meanwhile, the ORC a Dos class sailed their second coastal race, covering 65 miles between Barcelona, up to El Masnou, down to Vilanova, and finishing back in Barcelona. By mid-afternoon, after seven hours of sailing, Enigma and Yellow Rose were vying for the lead in real time as they approached the mark they needed to round off Vilanova.

This Sunday, the 51st Conde de Godó BMW Trophy will conclude with races starting at 12 noon. Two races are scheduled for the ORC classes and three for the J70 class. The latest possible start time for a race is 3:30 PM, and the awards ceremony is set to take place at 5 PM at the Real Club Náutico de Barcelona.

Organized by the Real Club Náutico de Barcelona in collaboration with the Royal Spanish Sailing Federation and the Catalan Sailing Federation, the 51st Conde de Godó BMW Sailing Trophy is sponsored by BMW and supported by La Vanguardia, the Barcelona City Council, and the Generalitat of Catalonia. Collaborators include Mapfre, Engel & Völkers, Veri, Royal Bliss, Estrella Damm, Isdin, Gramona, Tropicfeel, De Antonio Yachts, and Boero Yacht Coatings.

The 51st Conde de Godó BMW Sailing Trophy is part of the Mediterranean Sailing Circuit, along with the PalmaVela Regatta organized by the RCN Palma and the SM La Reina Trophy organized by the RCN Valencia.


bottom of page