top of page

The 51st Conde de Godó BMW Trophy crowns its winners

Elena Nova (ORC 0-1), L’Immens-Laplaza Assessors (ORC 2), Lady (ORC 3), Lassal (ORC 4-5), Yellow Rose (ORC Double Handed), Tenaz (J70), and Team Baleària-RCNP (Women’s Cup)

The Winners(From left to right): Pablo Garriga (Tenaz), Gonzalo Calvo (Lassal), Christian Plump (Elena Nova), Alexandre Laplaza (L'Immens-Laplaza Assessors), Nicolas Gonzalez(Lady); Marten Jan Ringers (Yellow Rose).

Photo: © Oscar Torveo

Barcelona, June 2, 2024 - The 51st Conde de Godó BMW Trophy concluded a spectacular edition, completing all the scheduled races: ten in ORC, seven in J70, and two in ORC Double Handed. The champions were crowned as follows: Elena Nova in ORC 0-1, L’Immens-Laplaza Assessors in ORC 2, Lady in ORC 3, Lassal in ORC 4-5, Yellow Rose in ORC Double Handed, Tenaz in J70, and Team Baleària-RCNP in the Women’s Cup. The Swan Award for the best Swan went to Elena Nova, and the Joan Guiu Trophy for the first ORC Double Handed was awarded to Yellow Rose.

The German boat Elena Nova, helmed by Christian Plump, won in ORC 0-1, a class that was fiercely contested until the final race. Three boats entered the last race separated by just one point, making the seventh and final race the decisive one. The German boat emerged victorious, clinching the Conde de Godó BMW Trophy, followed by the Estonian Katariina II helmed by Aivar Tuullberg in second place overall, and HM Hospitales helmed by Oscar Chaves in third, unable to keep pace with the two ClubSwan42s. Seabery-MarAmigo, helmed by Basilio Marquínez, finished third in the race but fourth overall, missing the podium.

In ORC 2, L’Immens-Laplaza Assessors, helmed by Alexandre Laplaza and skippered by Carles Rodríguez, comfortably defended its leading position, finishing ahead of BNS helmed by Eduardo Maestre from Castellón and Maximo helmed by Alex Martín. The 2023 Godó winner, M8-Zas Composite & Rigging helmed by the Francés brothers, had an inconsistent regatta, finishing just outside the podium in fourth place.

Nicolás González’s Lady topped the podium in ORC 3, dominating from start to finish. Saiola 10, helmed by Wim Wandesande, was second, and L’Oreig, helmed by Martí Gelabert, was third.

In ORC 4-5, Lassal, helmed by Gonzalo Calvo from Valencia, was the only boat to finish the Godó BMW undefeated, winning all seven races. The battle was for the remaining podium spots, with El Travieso helmed by Ángel Blázquez finishing second and Odysseus helmed by Jordi Tusell third.

In ORC Double Handed, Yellow Rose helmed by Dutch sailor Marten Jan Ringers confirmed its championship after winning the second and final 65-mile coastal race. The fleet sailed from Barcelona to El Masnou, then to Vilanova, and back to Barcelona, finishing after midnight following a day of light winds and an electrical storm on the Barcelona coast. Yellow Rose crossed the line at 1:23 AM after 13 hours, 23 minutes, and 43 seconds. Diabolic, helmed by Belgian sailor Glenn de Brower, was second, and Blue Oyster (RCN Barcelona) helmed by Robert Llorach was third. In the overall Double Handed standings, following Yellow Rose were Shaka (RCN Barcelona) helmed by Iván Olivé and Toni Pozo, and Tarterita (RCM Barcelona) helmed by David García. The ORC Double Handed winners also received the Joan Guiu Trophy.

In the J70 class, Tenaz helmed by Pablo Garriga led from start to finish, with rivals such as Noticia helmed by Luis Martín Cabiedes. The third place went to Team Baleària-RCNP helmed by María Bover, who won the last two races, displacing HangTen-Hnos. Berga helmed by Món Cañellas from the podium due to an over-the-line penalty in the penultimate race.

In the Women’s Cup, Team Baleària-RCNP defended their title, followed by Hakuna Matata helmed by Bàrbara Cornudella, and Citanias Obras y Servicios helmed by Patricia Suárez rounding off the podium.

The final day saw initially tricky wind conditions from the northeast, causing the first start to be canceled. After a wait, the southwest thermal wind (Garbí) settled at about 10 knots, allowing for a successful completion of the final two ORC races and three J70 races, thus fulfilling the scheduled seven ORC and ten J70 races.

Javier Godó, Conde de Godó, presented the trophy bearing his name, accompanied by Jordi Puig, President of the Real Club Náutico de Barcelona; Ana Godó, representing the Godó family and Vice President of the Real Club Náutico de Barcelona Javier Sanz, President of the Spanish Sailing Federation; Xavier Torras, President of the Catalan Sailing Federation; Jordi Bonet, Second Naval Commander of Barcelona; and Carmen Mora, Communications and Public Relations Manager for BMW in Catalonia and Pablo Garriga, Commodore of the Real Club Náutico Barcelona.

Organized by the Real Club Náutico de Barcelona in collaboration with the Royal Spanish Sailing Federation and the Catalan Sailing Federation, the 51st Conde de Godó BMW Sailing Trophy is sponsored by BMW and supported by La Vanguardia, the Barcelona City Council, and the Generalitat of Catalonia. Collaborators include Mapfre, Engel & Völkers, Veri, Royal Bliss, Estrella Damm, Isdin, Gramona, Tropicfeel, De Antonio Yachts, and Boero Yacht Coatings.

The 51st Conde de Godó BMW Sailing Trophy is part of the Mediterranean Sailing Circuit, along with the PalmaVela Regatta organized by the RCN Palma and the SM La Reina Trophy organized by the RCN Valencia.


bottom of page