top of page

The 51st Conde de Godó BMW Trophy is already underway

The ORC Two-Handed boats will sail south of the Catalan coast in the coming hours

This Friday, the rest of the fleet will join the competition

The ORC Double Handed fleet alongside the AC75 Luna Rossa. Photo: © Oscar Torveo

May 30, 2024 – This Thursday, the 51st Conde de Godó BMW Trophy began with the coastal race for the ORC Double Handed fleet, which started its 105-mile test at 3 PM with a start and finish in Barcelona, passing by the Petrolera, located off the Costa Daurada.

The race began with a Garbí wind of about eight knots from the southwest. The fleet started taking positions, and after the first two hours of sailing, the Swan45 Smerit, helmed by Tito Moure, as expected, quickly took the lead, sailing at 5.8 knots. Following Smerit was Enigma, a Grand Soleil 44R, helmed by Luis Tort and Elsa Poveda. These two lead boats opened up a gap with Shaka, helmed by Iván Olivé and Toni Pozo, and the Dutch Yellow Rose, helmed by Marten Jan Ringers.

The 2023 Conde de Godó Trophy champion, Ia Orana, helmed by Jordi Zaragoza, was leading the pack towards the last hours of the day.

With light winds expected in the first part, the forecast predicts the first boat returning to Barcelona early Friday morning, although this will depend on the conditions encountered during the night and the ascent from La Petrolera, where the entire fleet is expected to pass during the night.

Unai Cilleruelo, who alongside Jesús de Miguel won the Double Handed World Championship with O’Marilou, is competing for the first time in the Conde de Godó Trophy. He said, “We have very fond memories of Barcelona because we won the ORC Double Handed World Championship here last year, which is why we wanted to return to compete in the Godó.” This time, he will compete with another team member, fellow Basque Gonzalo Terceño.

The X332 O'Marylou with Unai Cilleruelo and Gonzalo Terceño en route to La Petrolera. Photo: © Oscar Torveo

All Defending Their Titles

While the ORC Double Handed fleet continues in full swing, the rest of the fleet will join the Conde de Godó BMW Trophy this Friday. All the winners of the 50th Conde de Godó Trophy are defending their titles in 2024: ORC 0-1 HM Hospitales, ORC 2 M8-Zas Composite Rigging, ORC 3 Laplaza Assessors, ORC 4-5 Asterix, J70 Noticia, and Females Baleària-RCNP.

The ORC 0-1 class will have 15 entries. Last season, the HM Hospitales, helmed by Oscar Chaves, was the brilliant winner. The DK46 from El Balís, skippered by Olympic champion Fernando León, will seek to renew the title. However, this edition features a strong fleet in this category with a total of 15 boats, including two TP52s: Blue Carbon, helmed by Toni Guiu, and Urbania, helmed by Tomás Gasset. Other notable entries include the ClubSwan 42s, such as the German Elena Nova, helmed by Christiam Plump, the Andalusian Seabery-MarAmigo, helmed by Basilio Marquínez, making its debut in the Catalan regatta, Blue, helmed by Diana Corominas, and the Estonian Katarina II, helmed by Aivar Tuulberg. Another boat to watch is the Swan 50 Tenaz, helmed by Pablo Garriga, with Jordi Puig at the helm, and the BC46 Soler Cabot, helmed by Elisabetta Quartaroli and skippered by Jorge Martínez Doreste.

The Soler Cabot was presented today at the RCN Barcelona facilities. Photo: © Oscar Torveo

In ORC 2, there will also be 15 participants. The Valencian M8-Zas Composite Rigging, helmed by the Francés brothers, returns as the reference, though last year it had an interesting battle with the Dutch Elke and the Catalan Es Tes Unno, which were second and third, respectively. This year, the same contenders are expected to compete for victory again.

In ORC 3, there will be 8 boats, with the Sinergia 40 L’Immens-Laplaza Assessors, helmed by Alexandre Laplaza, consistently on the podiums in Barcelona and last year’s top finisher, surpassing the Uruguayan Lady, a Dufour 40, which is also a regular in this regatta and finished third last year.

In ORC 4-5, Asterix defends its title among 10 boats. Last year, it competed against esCert and Swahili, which were second and third in 2023, separated by just four points.

The J70 monotype fleet consists of 15 units, including 5 female crews. They will compete together, with a separate female classification. In the overall category, the title is defended by Noticia, helmed by Luis Martín Cabiedes, though it will face the current Spanish champion, Tenaz, helmed by Pablo Garriga, and HangTen-Hnos. Berga, another contender for victory. Notably, the RCN Barcelona will have a J70 team formed by young members of the Optimist Racing Team.

Among the female crews, Baleària-RCNP, helmed by Neus Ballester, is the favorite against the debutantes Hakuna Matata, helmed by Rio 2016 Olympian Bàrbara Cornudella, and the Galician Cinanias Obras y Servicios, helmed by Patricia Suárez.

The races will begin this Friday at 3 PM.

Follow the live race here

Organized by the Real Club Náutico de Barcelona in collaboration with the Royal Spanish Sailing Federation and the Catalan Sailing Federation, the 51st Conde de Godó BMW Sailing Trophy is sponsored by BMW and supported by La Vanguardia, the Barcelona City Council, and the Generalitat of Catalonia. Collaborators include Mapfre, Engel & Völkers, Veri, Royal Bliss, Estrella Damm, Isdin, Gramona, Tropicfeel, De Antonio Yachts, and Boero Yacht Coatings.

The 51st Conde de Godó BMW Sailing Trophy is part of the Mediterranean Sailing Circuit, along with the PalmaVela Regatta organized by the RCN Palma and the SM La Reina Trophy organized by the RCN Valencia.


bottom of page